BCCI Shares T20 World Cup Prize Money: How It’s Divided Among the Indian Team

BCCI Shares T20 World Cup Prize Money

After India’s successful campaign in the T20 World Cup, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced how they will distribute the ₹125 crore prize money. Every team member and support staff will receive a share of the winnings, recognizing their contributions to the team’s success. Here’s a breakdown of who gets what.

According to an article by Devendra Pandey from Express Sports, this structured distribution ensures that everyone involved feels valued and rewarded for their contribution. The prize money split reflects the BCCI’s understanding that a successful cricket team is not just about the players who take to the field, but also about the coaches, selectors, and support staff who work tirelessly behind the scenes.

T20 WC 2024 Prize Money Breakdown:

Main Players and Head Coach:

  • Each of the 15 players and Head Coach Rahul Dravid will receive ₹5 crore. This recognizes the hard work and performance of the players on the field and the leadership of the head coach. Opener Yashasvi Jaiswal, wicketkeeper Sanju Samson, and leg-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal were part of the squad but didn’t get a chance to play in any of the matches. Despite not playing, they will each receive ₹5 crore.

Coaching Staff:

  • Other members of the coaching team, such as the assistant coaches, will get ₹2.5 crore each. Their efforts in training and preparing the players are vital to the team’s success.Coaching staff includes batting Coach Vikram Rathour, Fielding Coach T Dilip, Bowling Coach Paras Mhambrey.

Support Staff:

  • The support staff, including physiotherapists, trainers, and other support personnel, will each receive ₹2 crore. These individuals includes 3 Physiotherapists, 3 Throwdown Specialists, 2 Masseurs, 1 Strength and Conditioning Coach and all played a crucial role in ensuring the players are fit and well-prepared for each match.

Selection Committee:

  • Each member of the selection committee will get ₹1 crore. This committee is responsible for choosing the best players for the team, a task critical to building a winning side.

Reserve Players:

  • The reserve players(Avesh Khan, Shubhman Gill, Rinku Singh and Khleel Ahmad) who are standby players ready to step in if needed, will also receive ₹1 crore each. Their readiness and support are key to covering any unexpected gaps in the team.

The BCCI’s decision to distribute the prize money widely is a nod to the collective effort that goes into a successful cricket campaign. From the star players to the behind-the-scenes staff, every member of the Indian cricket team has played a part in their victory.

Relevant news