ICC T20 World Cup 2024: India Unveils Star-Studded Squad for T20 World Cup 2024

India’s squad for ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 Announced

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced a powerful 18-member squad for the upcoming ICC T20 World Cup, scheduled to be held in Australia later this year. The Men in Blue will be looking to reclaim the coveted trophy they last lifted in 2020.

Experience and Explosiveness Lead the Way

The squad boasts a blend of experience and explosive talent, with stalwarts like Rohit Sharma (captain), Virat Kohli, and Jasprit Bumrah leading the charge. The ever-reliable KL Rahul is a notable absentee due to injury, but the selection committee has opted for the in-form young opener Yashasvi Jaiswal to fill the void.

Wicketkeeping Options Provide Depth

The wicketkeeping department offers healthy competition between the established Rishabh Pant and the exciting Sanju Samson, providing flexibility based on conditions. All-rounder Hardik Pandya returns to the national fold as vice-captain, bringing back his valuable batting and bowling skills.

Spin and Pace Attack

The bowling attack features a mix of experience and youth, with veterans Yuzvendra Chahal and Kuldeep Yadav joined by the promising pacer Arshdeep Singh. The express pace of Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammed Siraj adds firepower, ensuring India has options to handle any batting lineup.

Strong Reserves Offer Flexibility

The four reserves – Shubman Gill, Rinku Singh, Khaleel Ahmed, and Avesh Khan – provide the team with additional depth and flexibility based on performance and pitch conditions.

India T20 Squad for ICC T20 World Cup


1. Rohit Sharma (Captain)
2. Yashasvi Jaiswal
3. Virat Kohli
4. Suryakumar Yadav


5. Hardik Pandya (VC)
6. Shivam Dubey
7. Axar Patel
8. Ravindra Jadeja


9. Rishabh Pant
10. Sanju Samson


11. Jasprit Bumrah
12. Mohammad Siraj
13. Yuzvendra Chahal
14. Kuldeep Yadav
15. Arshdeep Singh


Shubman Gill
Rinku Singh
Khaleel Ahmad
Avesh Khan

ICC T20 World Cup – India’s Group Stage Schedule

Date Match Venue
June 5 India vs Ireland New York
June 9 India vs Pakistan New York
June 12 India vs USA New York
June 15 India vs Canada Florida


With a well-balanced squad and a hunger to win, India enters the T20 World Cup as one of the favorites. This team possesses the firepower and experience to challenge for the title and bring the trophy back home.

Fans across the country will be eagerly waiting to see these players in action as they strive to write another chapter in India’s rich cricketing history.

Related Read – New Zealand Announced T20 World Cup 2024 Squad

Relevant news