Sri Lanka Unveils Star-Studded Squad for T20 World Cup 2024

Sri Lanka ICC T20 World Cup 2024 Squad

Sri Lanka Cricket has announced its 15-member squad for the upcoming ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024, scheduled to take place in the USA and West Indies from June 1 to 29. The squad features a blend of experienced campaigners and exciting young talents, to replicate Sri Lanka’s 2014 T20 World Cup triumph.

Wanindu Hasaranga Leads the Charge

The mantle of leadership falls upon the shoulders of ace spinner Wanindu Hasaranga, who has been in scintillating form in recent times. His ability to take wickets and control the run flow will be crucial for Sri Lanka’s success.

Experienced Veterans Bring Depth

The squad also includes experienced veterans like Angelo Mathews, Dasun Shanaka, and Dhananjaya De Silva, who bring valuable experience and leadership to the team. Their ability to guide the younger players and make crucial contributions on the field will be essential.

Bowling Attack Boasts Variety

The bowling attack features a variety of options, with Maheesh Theekshana, Dunith Wellalage, Dushmantha Chameera, Nuwan Thushara, and Matheesha Pathirana providing a mix of pace, spin, and mystery. Their ability to adapt to different conditions and take wickets will be crucial for Sri Lanka’s defensive efforts.

Traveling Reserves: A Pool of Talent

The squad is complemented by four traveling reserves: Asitha Fernando, Vijayakanth Viyaskanth, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, and Janith Liyanage. These players provide additional depth and options for the team, ensuring that Sri Lanka is well-prepared for any eventuality.

Sri Lanka T20 Squad for ICC T20 World Cup


1. Pathum Nissanka


2. Charith Asalanka
3. Dhananjaya de Silva
4. Angelo Mathews
5. Kamindu Mendis
6. Dasun Shanaka
7. Wanindu Hasaranga (Captain)
8. Dunith Wellalage


9. Kusal Mendis
10. Sadeera Samarawickrama


11. Dushmantha Chameera
12. Dilshan Madushanka
13. Matheesha Pathirana
14. Maheesh Theekshana
15. Nuwan Thushara


Asitha Fernando
Vijayakanth Viyaskanth
Bhanuka Rajapaksa
Janith Liyanage

Sri Lanka’s Group Stage Schedule

Date Match Venue
June 8 Sri Lanka vs South Africa Dallas
June 12 Sri Lanka vs Nepal Florida
June 13 West Indies vs New Zealand Trinidad and Tobago
June 17 Sri Lanka vs Netherlands St Lucia


Sri Lanka’s participation promises to add another layer of excitement and intrigue to the tournament. With the squad brimming with talent and determination, Sri Lanka is poised to make a strong impact on the global stage and bring pride to its nation. So tune into CricketBetPro for more T20 World Cup updates, online cricket betting tips, and much more.

Related read – 

Relevant news