Top 10 Knocks at the T20 World Cup

Top 10 Knocks at the T20 World Cup

The T20 World Cup has seen some of the most thrilling and memorable performances in cricket history. The 9th season of the T20 World Cup is taking place on 2nd June 2024. This time USA and the Caribbean are hosting. In the past seasons, players worldwide have showcased their incredible skills, leaving fans in awe. Here, we look back at the top 10 knocks that have lit up the T20 World Cup, highlighting individual brilliance and unforgettable moments. Let’s explore: 

10 Best Individual Knocks for ICC T20 World Cup

10. Chris Gayle 117 vs South Africa (2007)

Chris Gayle’s 117 against South Africa in the inaugural T20 World Cup remains one of the most destructive innings in T20 history. His century off just 57 balls set the tone for the tournament and showcased his dominance in the format. Chris Gayle hit a historic century (117 runs) in the first-ever Twenty20 World Cup match against South Africa. This achievement made him the world’s first cricketer to score a hundred in all three international cricket formats (Test, ODI, and T20).

9. Marlon Samuels 85* vs England (2016)

Marlon Samuels’ unbeaten 85 in the 2016 T20 World Cup final against England was a match-winning performance. His innings, filled with determination and flair, led the West Indies to their second T20 World Cup title. Marlon Samuels played a remarkable innings, scoring 85 runs while facing only 66 balls with a strike rate of 128.78. The innings lasted for 92 minutes, managed to hit 9 fours and 2 sixes during his knock. Overall, it seems like it was a powerful and entertaining innings by Marlon Samuels.

8. Yuvraj Singh 70 vs Australia (2007)

In the semi-final of the 2007 T20 World Cup, Yuvraj Singh played a blazing knock of 70 against Australia. He scored 70 runs from 30 balls and hit the longest six of the tournament (119 meters or 390 feet) against Brett Lee. Cricket betting sites later named this knock the “Best Twenty20 Batting Performance of 2007”. India won the match, and Yuvraj was named man of the match again. His powerful hitting helped India post a strong total and eventually secure a spot in the final.

7. Yuvraj Singh 58 vs England (2007)

Yuvraj Singh’s 58 against England is famous for his six sixes in an over off Stuart Broad. This explosive innings is etched in cricket history and played a significant role in India’s journey to the title. Thanks to these sixes, India ended their 20 overs with a score of 218/4. Yuvraj scored 58 runs from just 16 balls, hitting three fours and seven sixes, with an incredible strike rate of 362.50. Contributions from openers Gautam Gambhir, who scored 58, and Virender Sehwag, who scored 68, also helped the Men in Blue reach this total.

6. Virat Kohli 72* vs South Africa (2014)

Chasing a tricky target against South Africa, Virat Kohli once again rose to the occasion with an unbeaten 72. His knock ensured India reached the final, proving his consistency in the shortest format. This was the last time India faced South Africa in the T20 World Cup, Virat Kohli was awarded the player of the match. He scored 72 runs from 44 balls in the semi-final match.

5. Suresh Raina 101 vs South Africa (2010)

Suresh Raina’s hundred against South Africa was a turning point in his cricket journey. He scored 101 runs in only 60 balls, which was really quick. This made him the first Indian to hit a hundred in T20 World Cups. Also, in the semi-final match, he made 72 runs from just 44 balls.

4. Virat Kohli 82* vs Australia (2016)

In another outstanding display, Virat Kohli played a superb innings of 82 not out against Australia during the 2016 T20 World Cup. This memorable chase helped India secure their spot in the semi-finals, showcasing Kohli’s skill in important games. Virat Kohli remained not out, scoring 82 runs off just 51 balls in a span of 78 minutes. His innings included nine boundaries (fours) and two towering sixes, achieving an impressive strike rate of 160.78.

3. Rohit Sharma 79* vs Australia (2010)

Rohit Sharma’s outstanding 79 against Australia showed his T20 batting skills at their best. His aggressive style and powerful shots caught the Australian bowlers off guard, helping India secure a strong win. Rohit Sharma put on a remarkable show, finishing with not out 79 from 46 balls in only 65 minutes during the match. He smashed 4 sixes and 6 fours, achieving an impressive strike rate of 171.7

2. Gautam Gambhir 75 vs Pakistan (2007)

Gautam Gambhir’s 75 in the inaugural T20 World Cup final against Pakistan was a crucial knock that helped India post a competitive total. His innings laid the foundation for India’s historic win.  Gautam Gambhir played a vital role by scoring 75 runs for India. Despite some other Indian batsmen struggling, Gambhir’s innings provided a strong base, helping India reach a total of 157-5 in twenty overs. Rohit Sharma was the next highest scorer, contributing 30 not out. The early dismissal of Yusuf Pathan, caught by Mohammad Asif after scoring 15 runs, put pressure on the Indian batting lineup.

1. Virat Kohli 82* vs Pakistan (2022)

In a high-stakes match against Pakistan, Virat Kohli delivered not out 82 runs innings, guiding India to a spectacular victory. His impressive innings saw him score 82 runs from 53 balls, lasting for 98 minutes. During his time at the crease, he struck 6 fours and 4 sixes, showcasing his attacking intent. With a strike rate 154.71, Kohli’s aggressive yet composed batting proved crucial in his team’s success. His calm and composed innings under immense pressure showcased his class and determination.

These knocks are not just memorable for their scores but also for the context and pressure under which they were played. Each of these innings has left an indelible mark on the T20 World Cup, contributing to the rich tapestry of cricketing history. Just a few days left for another season of the T20 World Cup starting on 2nd June 2024. 

Related Post – ICC T20 World Cup 2024: All You Need To Know

Relevant news